Some of that Good Green

No. I don’t mean the illegal type of good green… But maybe this was so good that it should be illegal 😜. Continue reading for more…

image

I got the privilege to bake a cake for a young lady who recently turned 21. She’s in her last year of varsity, the first in her family to be going to tertiary! That’s a pretty big deal, and her mother is so proud of the young lady she’s become, so she wanted to make sure she got a special cake.

image

I was asked to make a “girl cake” – which could mean so many things! When I find out what she meant, I went around looking for a girl mould, which I couldn’t get my hands on. So I scoured pinterest for tips, and again – nothing. Thankfully, with the help of my sis in law, I managed to figure out how I’d make a girl cake. It was quite an adventure!

image

It took three cakes to make this form, and I’m really happy that it came out just as she wanted it! It was a tutti frutti cake, whose fragrance legitimately left you drooling every time you entered the kitchen. Yum. I used both fondant and buttercream for the icing, to play around with texture a bit.

Both mom and daughter were happy with the end result, as I snacked on the cake cut-offs :). Yip, just one of the perks of playing baker on these missions.

image

Thanks for reading!

And all that sweet stuff, B.

Leave a Reply

