A twist on a tart

So, I have an on-again-off-again relationship with lactose. It should really just be off, but I keep being drawn to milkshakes, milk chocolates, creamy desserts, etc. That didn’t go down so well recently so I’m working hard to atleast REDUCE the intake. In doing so, I’ve had to get creative about how to satiate my cravings. One of the things I did was turn the peppermint crisp tart into a peppermint crisp cake!

20160229-1437192993.jpg

I have done something similar here, but decided to turn it up a notch, as I was actually presenting it to chefs…

dsc_2736.jpg

Simple presentation to the judges

Zomato had an awesome event whereby I was invited (along with several other top foodies) to present our signature dishes to chefs, who review and select their favorites. It was not until two days before the event that I had decided what I wanted to do. I initially wanted to make something Congolese, but time didn’t allow for me to go to the market and source some goodies. So I did what I know best – bake.

wp-1456773582859.jpeg

Homemade ganache on this baddie. Drip, drop, drip drippity drop.

 

I decided on this particular one because I wanted something original and creative. So I went ahead and presented a chocolate and caramel marble cake with caramel icing, and chocolate ganache – topped with grated peppermint crisp chocolate. It was decadent! I didn’t make it to the top five, but I got to chat with Clive from the Great South African Bake-Off, as well as a few other pastry chefs who really inspired me! They loved that it was a twist on the original, along with the texture of the sponge and the fact that it was a moist cake. So woohoo to at least having that in the bag. The competition was intense though, as as most people really brought their A-game. I wasn’t able to photograph the winning dish, but here’s an idea of what was happening.

That was my very first potluck, and I really enjoyed myself. It was a delicious affair!

dsc_2743.jpg

“I love Zomato” cupcakes by another foodie. Yes, we love Zomato!

Thanks for reading!

img_20160309_121329.jpg

Peppermint Crisp Cake

 

And all that sweet stuff, B.

 

Leave a Reply

