Easy Peppermint Crisp Tart Recipe

It’s been so very hot in Joburg over the last week or so. With this heat wave, the last thing I want to do is stand in a hot kitchen baking. So, I decided to get my teeth sunken into tarts!

image

I was celebrating a birthday with some people in the East Rand and instead of a birthday cake, there was a peppermint crisp tart. Ever since then, I haven’t been able to get this tart out of my mind. So I decided to get it into my kitchen! And now you can have some in your’s.

Ingredients:

1 can of Treat caramel
750 ml of fresh cream
1/3 cup of Castor Sugar
1.5 packets of Tennis biscuits
1 slab of Nestle Peppermint Crisp chocolate
1 slab of Cadbury Mint Crisp chocolate

Method:
Layer the bottom of the tray with biscuits. The tray I used was about 25cm x 7xm. Then pour a LITTLE bit of cream over it to let it soak up a bit. You could also use milk, but I didn’t have any.

image

Crush the left over biscuits. This can be done in a processor, or even within the packet, just hitting it on a hard surface. I don’t like mine overly fine, so I did it manually. Set about a handful of this aside (for the topping).

Whip up the (cold) fresh cream with the castor sugar. Make sure you don’t over-beat it, you’re not trying to make butter. I’ve learnt this lesson. Heehee. Put the cream in the fridge or set aside (depending on the temperature of your kitchen). Grate up the chocolate, and feel free to leave in some big chunks to bite into. Gives the tart some texture. You can now remove the whipped cream from the fridge, mix in the caramel and most of chocolate bits. Leave about a handful aside. Pour a third of this mixture into the tray. Make sure it’s not too thick.

image

Now you add a layer of crushed biscuits and top that with the caramel mixture again.

image

Add your final bit of crushed biscuits and top it with the remaining caramel mixture.

image

With the handfuls of biscuits and chocolate –  throw them onto the tart. Cover it in a plastic wrapper and let it set for no less than five hours.

image

Try not to eat it all alone in one go. Again, from experience. This is really a nap-inducing tart. Heehee.

Let me know how you make your tart. Leave some comments below.

Thanks for reading.

And all that sweet stuff, B

Leave a Reply

