Chanel Chic

“The most colourful thing in the world is black and white; it contains all colours and at the same time excludes all.”

― Vikrmn, 10 Alone

Uhm, yes! This, my friends, is why you should read. So well put, Vikrmn. It also just has aesthetic appeal. I find it so elegant, be it in décor, fashion, photography…and even in baking.

wpid-dsc_0305.jpg

It’s throwback Thursday!!! I’m generally quite a nostalgic person, so being able to indulge in memories takes me to such a happy place. This particular throwback is yet another birthday cake! Celebrations galore, folks! (Heehee. Look at all those exclamation marks, can you sense the excitement?!)

For this lovely lady’s 20-something birthday, I made a cara-choc-mint cake. Her boyfriend really wanted to surprise her with something special, and loves those flavours together so we put our heads together to figure out how best to make it happen. I baked two caramel and chocolate marble sponges for this one. The smell it left in my kitchen was just heavenly!

wpid-collage_20150910104954685_20150910105017937.jpgwpid-collage_20150910104905562.jpg

The filling was a caramel frosting I put together, and topped with pieces of Nestle’s Peppermint Crisp chocolate. I also quite liked this part, because I levelled the sponges and ate the cut-offs with the caramel and chocolate. The taste test was such fun. #Winning

wpid-dsc_0295.jpg

Because the cake would be covered in white fondant, I covered it in white frosting. As in – CRISP white frosting: white margarine, clear vanilla extract, and white icing sugar.  I then rolled out some fondant on a surface covered in cornflour. I always have cornflour with me when I work with fondant, I find that it works a lot better than icing sugar or cake flour.

wpid-dsc_0299.jpg

The rest of the décor was thankfully simple. I just made the Chanel signs with a jar lid to get the round shape and cut it out on black fondant. I then made little black balls for the bottom circumference, and used silver balls for the sides of the cake. Added a nice touch to the black-and-white, I must say.

wpid-dsc_0304_20150910111204602.jpg

Happy to have been able to play a part in your surprise birthday dinner, Hloggie!

wpid-img-20150903-wa0014.jpg

And all that sweet stuff, B.

One thought on “Chanel Chic

  1. Pingback: A twist on a tart | Bene Bakes

Leave a Reply

