Lemon poppyseed

image

The last conference I attended had such yummy lemon poppy seed muffins. I mean, no shying away from flavour and just the perfect amount of sweet!

So of course, I did right thing and went out to find myself some poppy seeds.

To my surprise, they were quite an easy find. And I went straight into exploring how I could reproduce these bad boys in my kitchen. Because, Lord knows, I have very little interest in sitting in another 8 hour ethics conference.

So at 4am (thank you, insomnia) I did some recipe-hunting, and altered a few recipes so that I could make half a dozen large muffins. I had neither milk nor buttermilk nor butter in stock (imagine) so I really wanted something that didn’t require me to go out to Engen and buy ingredients. Being the hungry mastermind that I am, I managed to concoct something that was actually really yummy!

Ingredients :

1 cup cake flour (all purpose)
1/2 cup sugar + 5 tbsp sugar (separate)
1 tsp baking powder
1/3 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp poppyseeds
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup plain yogurt (I used double cream)
1/2 tsp grated lemon zest
1 large egg
4 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp oil

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius
2. Fill (large) muffin tin with 6 paper cups
3. Combine flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, poppy seeds, & salt in a large bowl.
4. In another bowl, whisk the yogurt, lemon zest, egg & 1 tbsp lemon juice.
5. Mix the wet mixture into the dry mixture, and then fold in the oil.

image

6. Use a spoon to add the batter into the cups. Fill in 3/4 of the way.
image

7. Pop into the oven for about 25 minutes.
8. Once they are ready, remove them from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes.

image

9. Mix the remaining 3 tsp lemon juice & 5 tsp sugar in a small pan on the stove. Mix until completely dissolved and thickened.
10. Pour glaze over the muffins.
11. Dig into those bad boys!

image

Love & Love!!

Leave a Reply

