It’s (he’s) a Boy!

Why do people refer to their babies as “it”. Is it like a way to detach? I have never understood it, especially once the sex has been determined… but that’s not what this post is about 🙂

wpid-20150513_222831.jpg

image

I’ve been so busy baking that I’ve barely had any time to post anything, with my sticky fingers. But I’m determine to make more of an effort and share my experiences in the kitchen with you.

So, I’ve been selling at Sheds in Pretoria this year, and that’s been such a success. The turn-out has always been really good, and I’ve managed to sell out all the time. All the while having tons of fun with one of my besties, who also sells her baked goods. My red velvet cupcakes in particular have been such a hit, and I can’t help but stuff my face a bit before I sell. Haha. No judgement. And I recently received an order for blue velvet cupcakes. My logic: “Uh, I just replace the red with the blue”. The result:

image

Navy blue (basically, black) cupcakes. Over 24 of them. Hahaha. So, that didn’t work very well…they tasted soooo good, and the texture was okay. But they weren’t blue. So I had to try again. This time:

image

I managed to get some beautiful blue cupcakes, that were so fluffy and moist, with such a great buttery texture. Hmmmm. #Winning

Here’s my recipe for a dozen blue velvet cupcakes:

1.5 cups of cake flour
1 cup sugar (I use brown)
1 tbs cocoa powder (I use Trumps)
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg at room temp
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup buttermilk at room temp
1 tbs blue food colouring
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 tsp baking soda (i got baking soda)
1/2 tsp white vinegar

Method:
1. Set the oven to 175 degrees celsius, and place your cupcake liners in the cupcake tin. Set this aside.
2. In a large mixing bowl, beat together the egg, oil, buttermilk, colouring and vanilla until they are well-combined.
3. Slowly start adding the flour to the wet mixture, little by little and mix for about a minute, until it is well-combined.
4. In a smaller bowl (like a ramekin), mix together baking soda and vinegar. You will see the mixture bubbling, that’s when you add it to the batter and mix it in well.
5. Your batter is now done. Fill your cupcake liners 2/3 of the way and pop it into the oven for close to 20 minutes. Don’t open your oven before the 15 minute mark, after which is should have risen and started solidifying. You can then test it with a toothpick, if your toothpick comes out clean, then your cupcake is ready. If it’s sticky, it still needs a few minutes.

*To make the frosting, I used about 250g of margarine and a container of cream cheese. Add the icing sugar (after sifting) to your liking, half a cup at a time.

Final instruction – DIG IN!

For real though, the texture of these bad boys blew my mind! Happy baking 🙂

wpid-20150513_222609.jpg

wpid-20150513_222831.jpg

2 thoughts on “It’s (he’s) a Boy!

  1. Pingback: Bene Bakes

  2. Pingback: Baby blues… Or baby pinks? | Bene Bakes

Leave a Reply

