First Impressions

Today, I was invited to MC at a prize giving. Whoop whoop!

wpid-20141126_073503.jpg

I’m a board member at this school with special needs kids and it was my first

time actually getting practically involved like this. So best believe, I wanted to do make a great first impression. Also, I’m unbelievably shy, haha, so I had to win them over with my goodies.

I made a simple buttermilk pound cake. Twas great, and moist. Yum. I loved this. It’s been a while since I hooked up a simple cake. No frosting or extra flavours. Just vanilla. Easy peasy.
I’ve learnt that cake is best when it’s chilled over night. It becomes moist, and the flavours are intense.

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp vinegar
Icing sugar to dust the cake

This is the part that gets me: it’s SO simple. Basically, preheat your oven at 180 degrees. Then mix the flour, baking soda, and salt together. Let that sit. In another bowl, beat the butter and sugar till nice and creamy. Then add eggs one at a time. Alternatively add buttermilk and flour, little by little, starting and ending with the flour. Mix that up, and add the vinegar and essence.
Spray your pan with ur non-stick, or grease it before putting the batter in.
It should be in the oven for about an hour. Make sure to check for cooked-ness (yes, I just typed that) by pricking it with a toothpick or a cake tester.
Once it’s done, let it cool before dusting it with icing sugar. And voila!

image

image

This will definitely be my go-to cake when in need. Such a hit!

 

I also threw in a few cookies. I made choc-chip, as well as peanut butter cookies. Again, really easy to make and a sure hit for people who just want to nibble on something sweet with a cuppa tea.

 

Chow chow

Leave a Reply

